Google+ accounts are closing

Google+ accounts will shut down from April 2019

If you’ve been living under a rock and haven’t heard the news, Google+ accounts will be closing in April 2019 instead of August as previously reported. They announced this decision due to low usage and a security breach in March 2018 where a bug gave developers access to private data for over 500,000 users. The company admits it has failed to achieve consumer needs with 90% of users logging on for less than 5 seconds and the breach appears to have been the final straw.

What do you need to do before April?

Your Google+ account will simply switch off so there isn’t anything you need to do on that front. But one thing you do want to put in your calendar before April is removing any links to Google+ from your website. It’s vital you remove any links to Google+ on your website so your domain doesn’t have a “dead-link” which may impact your SEO quality.

Another thing to consider, though rare, is content you may have posted exclusively on Google+. You’ll want to take screenshots and download any images you haven’t backed up or posted on other platforms.

To download all your Google+ data:

  1. Login to your Google+ account.
  2. Click on this link to download your data.
  3. Click “next”
  4. Click “create archive”

The archive takes time to prepare and you’ll receive an email with a link once the files are ready for download.” ~ I did this a month ago and am yet to receive the link so I recommend taking screenshots and manually downloading any images you want to save using the instruction below. 

To download selected images from your Google+ account:

  1. Go to your Google+ page
  2. Hover over the image you want to save and right click
  3. Select “save as”
  4. Name the file and save.

If you’d like assistance with these backups or an audit of the content on your Google+ page contact me for more information via support@solange.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *